Cologne Fine Art Insurance Talks

Go to the KKVG 2014 Gallery

KKVG 2014

2014 3rd Fine Art Insurance Talks 


The next Cologne art insurance conversation held on 10 
April in "Blauer Salon" of the Art Cologne 2014.

Topic: Faked Art - Properly insured

Moderator: Stefan Kobel

Third Cologne art insurance conversation

10.4. 2014 - 10.00 - 13.30 Hours- Blauer Salon - Köln Messe

Topic: Incorrect Art - Properly insured

content:

2012/2013 are years of public insecurity in the art trade . In New York, including the prestigious gallery Knoedler obviously over the years faked works of art were sold as genuine . In Germany it is reported in detail about the case Beltracchi . Leading auction houses like Sotheby's and Christie's  but also more locally operating as Lempertz have works by Max Ernst , Campendonck and Pechstein auctioned , despite all the expert opinions were not derived to be the works of these artists. Werner Spies - renowned expert , to whom we owe great exhibitions - was wrong several times in the definition of works by Max Ernst. The fees for the error seem linked to the increase in value for the result of the expertise. The Van Gogh Museum wrote 30 years ago, a painting by the Master as not genuine and 2013 comes from the same institution with the same painting for the opposite view - it's an original again !

2013 was one of the best years for the global art market . Auction records were broken and the private trade was recorded on and next to the big art fairs great success . The low interest rates shift the interests of investors in a sector whose valuation is less transparent and significantly higher margins promises than any other commodity. Art is forged for centuries, or copied and in some cultures is the proof longer than the original.

Against this background also result for the insurance industry, a plethora of issues surrounding the evaluation of art , the importance of provenance , the power of experts and the impotence of the "House of 1,000 jobs" (insurance industry ) .

What about the expertise of the industry? Where the issue of an insurance policy via a high value, a guarantee to a buyer that it is a genuine work and will insurers even pay if it turns out in retrospect , it was at best a copy and not a fake ? What insurers need to know to assess a risk? How safe is the use of experts? We want these and many other questions in the pursued in the context of the 3rd  Cologne art insurance conversation led by Stefan Kobel .

Round - the market and its participants - what makes collectors safe in terms of the authenticity of the works they wish to acquire . How can trade fairs help to protect themselves from mistakes . Who is liable to what extent, for what?

Round - The insurance industry - how it is for dealing with art and international markets set up ? How far does their expertise go? What damage scenarios are conceivable? Is an agreed value insurance really a gurantee for the value? Are there new products that gives added security ? What is meant by Title Insurance ?

Archive »
KKVG 2017 Cologne Fine Art Insurance Talks 2017

Art Insurance in times of uncertainty 6th Cologne fine art insurance talks at Art Cologne Thursday April 27th 2017; 10.00 o'clock, Europasaal, Cologne Fair | more

KKVG 2016

Depreciation in value - reality or fiction, curse or blessing?  • Rapid price increases aggravate the determination of depreciation in value  • An objective standard of evaluation is missing - but is not demanded...| more

KKVG 2015

4th Cologne Fine Art Insurance Talks - Art on Loan, Art on Tour More than 150 participants from Germany, Austria and Switzerland were discussing the topic. New markets lead to exhibitions at so far unknown places throughout...| more

KKVG 2014

2014 3rd Fine Art Insurance Talks  The next Cologne art insurance conversation held on 10 April in "Blauer Salon" of the Art Cologne 2014.Topic: Faked Art - Properly insuredModerator: Stefan...| more

KKVG 2013

Second Cologne Fine Art Insurance Talk April 19th 2013Designpost Köln located Deutz-Mühlheimerstrasse 22a  50679 Köln Moderator:  Stefan Kobel April 19th 2013 General Information:   Second Cologne art...| more

KKVG 2012

Cologne Art Insurance Talks 2012 - Art transported on sea vessels  Cologne, April 2012 Art transports at sea: a niche for professionals or culture endangering nuisance? This was the title of the first Cologne art...| more

Kölner Kunstversicherungsgespräch

Weiter zur Bildergalerie KKVG 2014
23.12.2014 14:49 Uhr

KKVG 2014

3. Kölner Kunstversicherungsgespräch

10.4. 2014 

10.00 - 13.30 Uhr 
Blauer Salon
Köln Messe

Thema: Falsche Kunst -  Richtig versichert

Inhalt:

2012/2013 sind Jahre der öffentlichen Verunsicherung im Handel mit Kunst. In New York schließt die renommierte Galerie Knödler, weil offensichtlich über Jahre gefälschte Werke als echt verkauft wurden. In Deutschland wird über den Fall Beltracchi ausführlich berichtet. Führende Auktionshäuser von Christies über Sotheby?s aber auch lokaler ausgerichtete wie Lempertz haben Werke von Max Ernst, Campendonck und Pechstein verauktioniert, die trotz aller Expertisen nicht dem Oeuvre dieser Künstler entstammten. Werner Spies ? renommierter Experte, dem wir großartige Ausstellungen verdanken ? irrte sich mehrfach in der Festlegung auf Werke von Max Ernst. Die Honorare für den Irrtum scheinen an die Wertsteigerung für die Bestimmung gekoppelt.  Das van Gogh Museum schrieb vor 30 Jahren ein Gemälde des Meisters als nicht echt ab und 2013 kommt die gleiche Institution beim selben Gemälde zur gegenteiligen Meinung ? es ist wieder echt! 

2013 war eines der besten Jahre für den weltweiten Kunsthandel. Auktionsrekorde wurden gebrochen und auch der private Handel konnte große Erfolge auf und neben den großen Kunstmessen verzeichnen. Die niedrigen Zinsen verlagern die Interessen der Kapitalanleger in einen Sektor, dessen Wertbestimmung weniger transparent ist und deutlich höhere Margen verspricht als irgendeine andere Handelsware. Kunst wird seit Jahrhunderten gefälscht, oder kopiert und in manchen Kulturkreisen gilt die Kopie mehr als das Original.

Vor diesem Hintergrund ergeben sich auch für die Versicherungswirtschaft eine Fülle von Fragen rund um die Bewertung von Kunst, die Bedeutung von Provenienz, die Macht von Experten und die Ohnmacht des ?Hauses der 1.000 Berufe? (Versicherungswirtschaft).

Wie steht es um den Sachverstand der Branche? Ist die Ausstellung einer Versicherungspolice über einen hohen Wert eine Garantie für einen Käufer, daß es sich um ein echtes Werk handelt und wird die Versicherer auch dann zahlen, wenn sich im Nachhinein herausstellt, es war im günstigsten Fall eine Kopie und keine Fälschung? Was muss ein Versicherer wissen, um ein Risiko beurteilen zu können? Wie sicher ist der Einsatz von Experten? Diesen und vielen weiteren Fragen wollen wir im Rahmen des 3. Kölner Kunstversicherungsgespräches unter Leitung von Stefan Kobel nachgehen.

1.   Runde 
Der Markt und seine Teilnehmer ? Was macht Käufer sicher in Bezug auf die Echtheit der Werke, die sie erwerben wollen. Wie können Messen helfen sich vor Irrtümern zu bewahren. Wer haftet in welchem Umfang für was?

2.   Runde  
Die Versicherungswirtschaft ? Wie ist sie für den Umgang mit Kunst und internationalen Märkten aufgestellt? Wie weit reicht ihre Expertise? Welche Schadenszenarien sind denkbar? Ist ein vereinbarter Versicherungswert (agreed value) in jedem Fall verbindlich? Gibt es neue Produkte, die zusätzliche Sicherheit verschaffen? Was ist unter Title Insurance zu verstehen?

< KKVG 2013
Archiv »
KKVG 2017

Kunstversicherung in Zeiten der Unsicherheit 6. Kölner Kunstversicherungsgespräch im Rahmen der 51. Art Cologne Donnerstag 27. April 2017, 10.00 Uhr, Messe Köln, Europasaal | mehr

KKVG 2016

5. Kölner Kunstversicherungsgespräch - Wertminderung - Wertminderung – Realität oder Fiktion, Fluch oder Segen?  • Rasante Preissteigerungen erschweren die Ermittlung von Wertminderungen • Ein objektiver...| mehr

KKVG 2015

4. Kölner Kunstversicherungsgespräch - Leihverkehr - Kunst on Tour       Mehr als 150 Teilnehmer aus Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz diskutierten auf dem 4. Kölner...| mehr

KKVG 2014

3. Kölner Kunstversicherungsgespräch 10.4. 2014  10.00 - 13.30 Uhr Blauer SalonKöln Messe Thema: Falsche Kunst -  Richtig versichert Inhalt: 2012/2013 sind Jahre der öffentlichen Verunsicherung im Handel mit...| mehr

KKVG 2013

2. Kölner Kunstversicherungsgespräch am 19. April 2013Streit um Werte : Kunst und Versicherung Designpost KölnDeutz-Mühlheimerstrasse 22a 50679 Köln Moderation:  Stefan Kobel Das Gespräch fand am 19. April 2013...| mehr

KKVG 2012

Kölner Kunstversicherungsgespräch 2012 - Kunsttransporte zur See Köln, April 2012 Kunsttransporte zur See: Nische für Profis oder kulturgefährdendes Ärgernis? So lautete der Titel des ersten Kölner...| mehr